Student Research Opportunities

The Department of Physiology is pleased to offer the following categories of summer research awards to undergraduate students on a competitive basis

  • Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program (UROP)   
    • 2024 UROP Award Announcement and Application (Word document)
    • 2024 UROP Award Announcement and Application (PDF)
    • Awards will be provided to research associated with:
    •              CA Cancer and Cancer related Diseases (5 awards)

                   CA-JPM Dr. John P. Mitchell Cancer Research Fund (1 award)

                   CH Cardiovascular, Heart (1 award)

                   GM General Medical (Health Research in Any Area) (3 awards)

                   KD Kidney and Kidney Related Diseases (3 awards)

                   RE Respiratory, Circulatory and Heart Diseases (2 awards)

    •              EM Epilepsy & Multiple Sclerosis (1 award)

    • Application Deadline: February 27, 2024 
  • National Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Undergraduate Students Research Award (USRA)
    • Application Deadline: February 27, 2024
  • Research and Health Science Education (RHSE) Undergraduate Summer Research Studentship (USRS) 
  • University of Toronto Excellence Awards (UTEA)
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)
    • Undergraduate Student Research Award (USRA) (2 awards)
    • NSERC USRA 2024 -Internal Application and guidelines_1.pdf
    • New this year, students who self-identify as Black or Indigenous will be funded by NSERC above and beyond the department's allocation.
    • Eligible faculty must be eligible to hold an NSERC (but do not currently have to have one) and must also have primary appointment and/or funds administered by the Department.
    • Application Deadline: February 27, 2024
  • CIHR Black Student Undergraduate Student Research Award (USRA)
  • 2024 CIHR Black Student USRA Award Announcement.pdf
  • Application Deadline: February 27, 2024
Two professors and a student hold a certificate.

Undergraduate Award Recipient - Colin Bayliss and Christopher Perumalla Awards 

The Colin Bayliss Award is awarded for outstanding performance in the undergraduate Physiology Specialist Program at the University of Toronto.

The Christopher Perumalla Award was created in 2014 and is awarded to the top undergraduate student in the Physiology Major Program at the University of Toronto.