Internal (U of T) Awards

Connaught International Scholarships for Doctoral-stream Students

The Connaught International Scholarship is a prestigious entrance award intended to attract excellent international doctoral or doctoral-stream students.  Approximately 20 awards will be award annually, with a value of $35,000 total (including tuition and incidental fees), and the scholarship is renewable on an annual basis and will continue throughout for the standard period of the program's funding comittment (i.e. 4-5 years).   No application is required.  All international doctoral applicants to the PSL graduate programs will be considered for this award provided that their completed applications are received by January 15

Faculty of Medicine OSOTF and Restricted Awards

OSOTF and Restricted Awards provide financial support for registered graduate students (primarily MSc and PhD) in the Faculty of Medicine. These funds contribute towards the annual student stipend.

Most of the funds for OSOTF and Restricted Awards come from interest income earned from endowments donated by various donors. The Ontario Student Opportunity Trust Fund (OSOTF) awards were established in 1996/97 by the Provincial Government. The donor provides 1/3 of the funding, matched by 1/3 from the Province and 1/3 from the University.

OSOTF awards are restricted to residents of Ontario who demonstrate financial need according to the provincial government's guidelines (i.e., receiving OSAP or providing the data on the OSOTF Financial Need Assessment Form). For the purposes of the OSOTF awards, an Ontario resident is either a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada who has an Ontario mailing address at the time the award is made. Awards are allocated on the basis of academic excellence; however, financial need is the primary consideration for OSOTF awards. The award holder must be a full-time student for at least 14 weeks in any term during which they hold the award. Preference in funding decisions will be given to students in year 1-2 of their MSc or year 1-5 of their PhD Students beyond these years will only be considered under exceptional circumstances. Each individual award has additional specific eligibility requirements, listed under the Awards section. Applications will be by electronic submission using an online application system.  Application, competition guidelines and awards list (with detailed description of the awards) are available at:

School of Graduate Studies (SGS) University-Wide Awards

Through the generous support of various donors, a number of endowments have been established at the School of Graduate Studies.  Each year a number of internal awards are made available from these endowments to provide support to graduate students.  Individual award descriptions and application forms can be found on the SGS website:

Heart & Stroke/Richard Lewar Centre of Excellence (HSRLCE) Studentships

HSRLCE offers studentship awards to support individuals who wish to pursue a career in cardiovascular science. The objective of these awards is to support a robust and productive research community in Toronto. These awards are made to those who demonstrate the potential for excellence through their previous academic accomplishments and the environment in which they will work. Applicants must be primarily supervised by a Member of the Centre. Each application is considered a joint submission by the applicant and the proposed supervisor.

Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

Sponsored by the University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA), one fellowship of up to $25,000 is awarded annually to a doctoral student who demonstrates outstanding academic excellence and extracurricular leadership.

Banting and Best Diabetes Centre (BBDC) Graduate Studentships

Funding Programs for Trainees (fellows, graduate, undergraduate, medical students): The trainee’s supervisor must be a registered member of the BBDC to apply for funding.

  • BBDC-Novo Nordisk Studentships
  • Tamarack Graduate Award in Diabetes Research
  • Yow Kam-Yuen Graduate Scholarship in Diabetes
  • BBDC-UHN Graduate Awards

C. David Naylor University Fellowships

The C. David Naylor University Fellowships, funded by Arthur and Sandra Irving, at the University of Toronto were established to support outstanding students beginning their graduate degree.

Created by Arthur and Sandra Irving through the Arthur L. Irving Family Foundation, these fellowships honour the University of Toronto's 15th president, Professor C. David Naylor. During his eight-year tenure, he worked to ensure the global success of the University. Much like the man this fellowship is named after, The C. David Naylor University Fellowships focus on developing strong leaders who demonstrate academic excellence and community commitment. These fellowships are designed to attract outstanding candidates from the Atlantic Canadian provinces by enhancing the normal funding offered by graduate programs at the University of Toronto.

Vision Science Research Program - OSOTF

A $17.25 million endowment from the OSOTF/U of T/Vision Science Research Program-Toronto Western Hospital provides support for a number of graduate fellowships each year. In 2016-17 the program gave out 24 awards to new and renewal students.​

The application form will be available online in April 2018. Graduate student projects must be in areas related to vision science/health research. The program will fund or top up to full stipend.​

For student eligibility criteria and application forms, please visit the VSRP  website. 

SGS Conference Grant

The SGS Conference Grant provides modest financial support to eligible students who will be actively presenting their research at an academic conference. Two application cycles occur every year (Winter/Spring and Fall).

This grant aims to provide successful applicants with funds to cover at least the minimum registration fee for the proposed conference as well as a modest top-up, when possible. Applicants are expected to seek funding from various sources to supplement their travel and other related expenses.

Doctoral Completion Award

The Doctoral Completion Award (DCA) is intended to support full-time PhD students who are beyond the funded cohort, no longer receiving normal funding, and within time-limit for their degree.  It is open to both domestic and international students.  Awards will be based on academic merit.

Leave of Absence Stipendiary Fund

SGS Inclusive Excellence Admissions Scholarships for Master's Students