Government-Funded Awards



Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master's Program (CGSM)

The objective of the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s (CGS M) Program is to help develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in undergraduate and early graduate studies. The award value is $17,500 for 12 months (non-renewable).

CIHR Doctoral 

The CIHR Doctoral Research Awards consist of two programs administered through a single application:

The Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarships Doctoral Awards (CGS-D) program provides special recognition and support to students who are pursuing a doctoral degree in a health-related field in Canada.

The Doctoral Foreign Study Award (DFSA) provides special recognition and support to students who are pursuing a doctoral degree in a health-related field abroad.

Candidates apply to the CIHR Doctoral Research Awards competition and top-ranked candidates are awarded a CGS-D or DFSA depending on the proposed location of research. Both awards are of equivalent value. 
All candidates are expected to have an exceptionally high potential for future research achievement and productivity.

NSERC Doctoral 

The Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS D) Program provides financial support to outstanding eligible students pursuing doctoral studies in a Canadian university. The Government of Canada established these prestigious scholarships, to be awarded through national competitions by the granting agencies, to ensure a reliable supply of highly qualified personnel to meet the needs of Canada's knowledge economy. Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholars will help renew faculty at Canadian universities and will be the research leaders of tomorrow. The NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships-Doctoral (PGS D) Program provides financial support to high-calibre students who are engaged in doctoral programs in the natural sciences or engineering. This support allows these students to fully concentrate on their studies and to seek out the best research mentors in their chosen fields. NSERC encourages qualified Aboriginal students who are interested in the program to apply.

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship

The Vanier CGS program aims to attract and retain world-class doctoral students by sup​porting students who demonstrate both leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and health. Students wishing to apply for a Vanier CGS must do so through the Canadian university to which they are applying for doctoral studies.

Ontario Graduate Scholarships (OGS)

The Ontario Graduate Scholarship Program recognizes academic excellence in graduate studies at the master’s and doctoral levels in all disciplines of academic study. The OGS program at U of T is jointly funded by the Province of Ontario and the University of Toronto. The value of the OGS is $5,000 per term. Thus, awardees may receive $10,000 for two consecutive terms or $15,000 for three consecutive terms. Starting with the 2013-14 competition, the administration of OGS applications will be handled by individual Ontario universities. The University of Toronto has a centralized on-line application available to students on the SGS website:

Important note for prospective students: Your application will only be assessed at the University of Toronto. Students must submit an OGS application to each institution for which they are seeking admission. OGS awards are no longer transferrable by a student from one university to another.
Please complete the application on-line by the departmental deadline.

The Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarships in Science and Technology (QEII-GSST)

The QEII-GSST program is designed to encourage excellence in graduate studies in science and technology. The program is supported through funds provided by the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities and by funds raised by the University of Toronto from the private sector.  Applicants must be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents who plan to enroll, or are registered in a full-time research thesis-based MSc or PhD in the Faculty of Medicine at the time of the award.

For full details on the application process, visit the GLSE website at

Ontario Trillium Scholarship (OTS)

The Ontario Trillium Scholarships is a new program which serves as a significant initiative to attract more of the best qualified international students to Ontario for PhD studies.  The University of Toronto will have 15 awards to distribute annually.  Each OTS will be worth $40,000 (including tuition) per annum, and is renewable for four years.

Academic merit is the defining criterion for the selection of OTS recipients.  OTS recipients must have achieved an A- average in each of the last two years of full-time study.  Nominees must be new international applicants applying to full-time doctoral programs within the funded-cohort (PhD).  Nominees must not currently be studying at an Ontario institution or have been previously registered within U of T.  No application is required.  All international doctoral applicants to the PSL graduate programs will be considered for this award provided that their completed applications are received by January 15.                                                                  .