Department Organization & Committees

Retreat image

Chair’s Executive Committee (CEC)

Mandate: To provide advice and consultation for the Chair with regard to strategic planning as well as the day-to-day functioning of the Department

Membership:  Chair: G. Collingridge,  A. Buchan, Z.P. Feng, M. French, A. Gramolini, A. Jurisicova, S. Heximer, J. Katsoulakos, N. Kee, M. Markovic (GASP President), S.G. Matthews, P. Smellie, S. Prescott, D. Tweed, L-Y Wang, M. Wheeler

Chair's Strategic Group:

Membership:  Chair: G. Collingridge, M. French, S. Heximer, S. Matthews, B. Orser, M. Wheeler

Research, Innovations and Space Committee (RISC)

Mandate: To plan and implement research opportunities and research partnerships for the Department. Oversight of Departmental Research Platforms. Overall and integrated considerations of physical resources (e.g. space and research infrastructure). To advise on nomination of faculty for research awards.

Membership: Chair: S. Heximer,   A. Gramolini, A. Jurisicova, L-Y Wang, Z.P. Jia, B. Orser, R. Horner, S. Lye, M. Wheeler, S. Matthews, A. Buchan & G. Collingridge (ex officio).

Internal Grant Reviews

Mandate: To undertake pre-review of grants submitted by members of the Department.

Membership: Chair: A. Buchan, P. Brubaker, S. Heximer,  R. Horner, A. Jurisicova, L. Wang & G. Collingridge (ex officio)

Academic Oversight Committee (AOC)

Mandate: To administer and oversee all aspects of student education programs for the Department. To promote teaching excellence and Faculty Development. To undertake long-term planning of the Department's Academic Mission. To advise on nomination of faculty for teaching awards.

Membership: co-Chairs:  M. French and L.-Y. Wang;  Z.P. Feng,  N. Kee, D. Tweed, C. Wittnich. 

Appointments & Promotions Committee

Mandate: To adjudicate all applications for appointments, promotion within the Department. To regularly review cross-appointments and to oversee the annual process of evaluating the performance of individual members of the Department.

Membership: Chair: G. Collingridge,  D. Belsham, P. Brubaker, S. Matthews, L. Schlichter, M. Wheeler.

Promotions Subcommittee: Annual Activity Assessment Committee (PTR)

Membership: Chair:   S. Matthews,  C. Bear, D. Belsham, Z.P. Feng, A. Giacca, A. Gramolini, S. Heximer, E. Lambe, S. Matthews, C. Nostro, S. Sugita, M. Wheeler,  V. Watt

Workload Policy Committee

Mandate : To develop a Workload Policy with respect to teaching of undergraduate and graduate courses for the Department of Physiology, as mandated by the University of Toronto.

Membership: Chair: S. Heximer,  P. Brubaker, N. Kee, B. Orser, V. Watt, M. Zhuo, D. Belsham/G. Collingridge (ex officio)

Graduate Studies Committee

Mandate: To administer Graduate Admissions selection process. To consider and advise policy around the Graduate Program of the Department.

Membership: Chair: Z-P Feng, B. Cox, G. Fantus, Z-P Jia, T. Jin, E. Lambe, P. Monnier, C. O'Brien,  S. Sugita, H. Sun, Z. Pausova 

Graduate Academic Committee

Mandate: To oversee all academic aspects of thesis based graduate programs, including monitoring of graduate courses and evaluation of new course proposals.

Membership:  Chair: D. Tweed, T. Brown, P. Brubaker, T. Gramolini, R. Horner, F. Skinner, GASP President and Rosalie Pang (Graduate Administrator)

Graduate Student Appeals Committee

Mandate: To consider formal appeals from graduate students under the relevant guidelines of the School of Graduate Studies

Membership:  Chair: J. Duffin. Z.P. Feng, R. Horner, M. Wheeler and GASP representative

International Research and Education Collaborations Committee

Mandate:  To strengthen international collaborations and begin to develop new and innovative linkages.

Membership: Chair: S. Matthews, S.-S. Bolz, A. Buchan, S. Lye, C. Nostro, M. Zhuo

Professional Master's Program (MHSc-Medical Physiology) Advisory Committee (PMPAC):

Mandate: To guide and advise on the creation, launch and ultimately sustaining excellence of the Professional Masters Program of the Department.

Membership:  Chair:  A. Buchan, T. Brown, P. Brubaker, B. Cox, A. Gramolini, R. Horner, R. Pang (Graduate Administrator), F. Skinner, student representative, C. Wittnich

Student Led Committees:

Graduate Association of Students in Physiology Executive (GASP)

Mandate: The Graduate Association of Students in Physiology is an elected group of graduate students from the Department of Physiology. Our responsibility is primarily to enhance the experience of students in the Physiology Graduate Program, and to encourage interactions between graduate students and with faculty members, whether it is through social events or academic activities like the annual Frontiers in Physiology Research Symposium.

President: Melanie Markovic (Brubaker lab)
VP:  Scott Frendo-Cumbo (Klip lab)
VP:  Vivian Szeto (Feng lab)
Treasurer: Frances Wong (Cox lab)
Secretary: Sammy Cai (Jia lab)

Back to Top